product icon

How do I change the sync settings of a live Google Workspace integration?

    As your organization changes, there might be a need for new teams to get LastPass accounts or for some teams to have their LastPass access removed. In such scenarios, you can go ahead and change the sync settings of your live Google Workspace integration.

    1. Log in to LastPass and access the Admin Console at https://admin.lastpass.com/.
    2. Go to Users > Directories.
    3. Select the Google Workspace tab.
    4. Click Sync options.
      Google Workspace sync options

      The Sync options window pops up, displaying your previous sync settings.

    5. Edit settings as per your needs.
      Note: Do not refresh the page while configuring your sync settings in the Sync options pop-up window. If you refresh the page while the pop-up window is open, LastPass discards your chosen settings and sets the default option instead. The default option is to Sync all users and groups without enabling (that is, starting) the sync process.
      • Sync all users and groups (default option)

        This option syncs all users and groups between Google Workspace and LastPass.

        Sync all users and groups
        Note: Google Workspace groups do not keep their hierarchy in the LastPass groups table after syncing has completed. This means that groups are synced to LastPass without keeping any parent-child relationship that they may have in the Google directory.
      • Sync specified users and groups > Users tab

        This option lists all the users that exist in the Google directory, and allows you to select those individual users that you wish to sync to LastPass.

        You can search for specific users using the search box.

        Select or de-select users, depending on how you wish to modify your current integration. Optionally, click Groups and select/de-select any groups as needed. Otherwise, click Next to proceed.

        Sync selected users

        After clicking Next, you will see a summary of the users (and groups) you selected. To modify your choices at this point, click Back and make any required changes. Once you have made your changes, click Next.

      • Sync specified users and groups > Groups tab

        This option lists all the groups that exist in the Google directory, and allows you to select the groups whose members you wish to sync to LastPass.

        You can search for specific groups using the search box.

        Select or de-select groups, depending on how you wish to modify your current integration. Optionally, click Users and select/de-select any individual users as needed. Otherwise, click Next to proceed.

        Note: Google Workspace groups are presented in an expandable/collapsible tree structure, showing the hierarchy between groups and their nested groups. If a parent group is selected, all child groups are selected too. However, if you wish to customize the scope of syncing, you can:
        • de-select the parent group and select all or only specific child groups, or
        • leave the parent group selected and de-select all child groups, or
        • leave the parent group selected and select only specific child groups
        Sync selected groups
        Note: If you have more than 999 groups in your Google directory, the groups are not listed one by one, but you must search for specific groups using the search box.

        After clicking Next, you will see a summary of the (users and) groups you selected. To modify your choices at this point, click Back and make any required changes. Once you have made your changes, click Next.

        Note: Google Workspace groups do not keep their hierarchy in the LastPass groups table after syncing has completed. This means that groups are synced to LastPass without keeping any parent-child relationship that they may have in the Google directory.
    6. Click Save changes to save your sync settings.

      You are taken back to the Directory integrations page.

      Tip: Back on the Directory integrations page, the value of Current sync setting gives you information about the sync option you selected (All users or Specified users).
    7. If the Enabled checkbox had already been selected before you changed your sync settings, then the sync process will run at the automatically scheduled time. If the Enabled checkbox had not been selected before you edited your sync settings, the automatic sync process will not run. When you are ready to start syncing, select the Enabled checkbox.
    8. The automatic sync runs once every hour. If you do not want to wait for the sync process to run at the scheduled time, click Sync users and this will sync your users instantly.
      Tip: To check if your users have been added successfully, click View integration logs. The Integration logs drawer is displayed. On the User activity tab, you can search for specific users to see if they have been added. In addition, on the System activity tab, you can check if the latest provisioning action has been successful.

    Changes in user status when editing sync settings

    After changing the sync settings of a live Google Workspace integration, following the syncing of users to LastPass, their status in LastPass will change as follows:

    Action Users' LastPass status changes to

    Add a new (previously unselected) group/user

    Invited

    Remove an existing (previously selected) group/user

    Disabled

    Re-add an existing (previously selected, then unselected) group/user

    Invited (if the status was Invited before the change), or

    Active (if the status was Active before the change)