HELP FILE

How do I delete a LastPass Families account (as a Family Owner)?

    As the Family Owner, you can choose to delete your LastPass Families account, which will downgrade all family member accounts associated to LastPass Free accounts.

    Restriction: You must be the LastPass Families Owner (purchaser of the LastPass Families subscription) in order to perform these actions. Learn how to check which role you have in LastPass Families.
    Tip: If you have an expired LastPass Families account and want to switch to LastPass Premium, please see How do I switch from LastPass Families to LastPass Premium?
    Before you begin:
    • Please review this important information before deleting a LastPass Families account.
    • All shared folders that contain items will be migrated to your LastPass Free account and converted to standard (non-shared) folders.
    • Log in to LastPass.
      1. Log in to LastPass and access your vault by doing either of the following:
        • In your web browser toolbar, click the LastPass icon active LastPass icon and select Open My Vault.
        • Go to https://lastpass.com/?ac=1 and log in with your email address and master password.
      2. Select Account Settings in the left navigation.
      3. Under Account Information, select My Account.
      4. Select Delete family.
      5. When ready, select Delete family to confirm.

        My Account Delete Family

        Important: If you have shared folders with family members assigned to them, you are advised that those users will lose access to the item(s) within the shared folder if you proceed. Don't worry – all shared folders will convert to standard (non-shared) folders in the shared folder owner's vault and all items within the folder will remain available to that owner.

    • All shared folders are migrated and converted to standard folders.
      1. Once your account type changes to "Free User" in the user account drop-down menu in the upper-right of the toolbar, the migration process can begin (depending on how you are logged in to LastPass):
        • If you are logged in via the LastPass browser extension, the migration begins automatically within your vault.
        • If you are logged in via the online web vault at https://lastpass.com, the migration begins after you log out and log back in again.

        Remember: Duplicate folders are temporarily displayed in your vault as they are moved over and converted to standard folders until the process is complete.

    Results: You have deleted your LastPass Families plan and downgraded to LastPass Free, which also successfully migrated and converted your shared folders to standard folders.
    What to do next: Learn more in our LastPass Free FAQs about your current plan, or upgrade to a Premium, Teams, or a Business plan tier ( see pricing and features).