HELP FILE

Manage Automatic Logout

    As a security best practice, you can manage settings within your LastPass browser extension preferences to keep you logged in, or automatically log you out of your LastPass account when it is no longer in use and/or idle.

    Attention: Currently, there are two different extension menu experiences, so instructions may differ depending on your navigational experience. The "new experience" applies to version 4.104.0 and newer for the LastPass browser extension, whereas the "previous experience" refers to version 4.103.0 and earlier.
    Before you begin: The steps below must be performed in the LastPass browser extension menu only – they cannot be performed from within your vault.
    1. In your web browser toolbar, click the inactive (grey or black) LastPass icon inactive LastPass icon.
    2. Enter your email address and master password, then click Log In.
    3. If prompted, complete steps for multifactor authentication (if it is enabled on your account).
    4. Click the LastPass icon active LastPass icon in your browser toolbar.
    5. Take the action that matches your navigational experience:
      • New experience – Select the Account tab, then select Extension settings.
      • Previous experience – Select Account Options OR < your username > at the bottom of the menu, then select Extension Preferences.
    6. Go to Extension Preferences > General.
    7. On the General tab, under the "Security" section, enable or disable your desired settings:
      • Log out when all browsers are closed – Specify when LastPass should log out of your session upon closing all web browsers that are in session with LastPass. Check the box to enable this feature, and when you relaunch a web browser, you will be asked to enter your master password. If you want to stay logged in to LastPass upon browser close, leave the box unchecked. This setting is disabled by default.

      • Log out after this many minutes of inactivity – Specify the maximum amount of idle time (no keyboard and mouse activity on the machine at all, not just no activity on the browser where the extension is installed) that you want to have pass before LastPass automatically logs your account out of the active session for the web browser where the extension is installed. After the specified amount of time (in minutes), an inactive LastPass icon inactive LastPass icon is displayed to indicate that you have been logged out. Please note that if any activity on the machine occurs before the specified logout time, the countdown to logout time will be reset. If you want to remain logged in to your LastPass account via the LastPass browser extension regardless of idle time, leave this setting unchecked. This setting is disabled by default.

    8. Click Save when finished.
    9. Restart your web browser(s) to incorporate the setting change(s).
    Results: You have configured your automatic logout preferences.