Manually terminate a user from LastPass Teams
There are several termination options available for LastPass Teams admins to use, each with varying degrees of severity.
CAUTION: Please consider your options carefully before deleting or removing users.
About this task: To terminate a LastPass user in the LastPass Teams Admin Console, do the following:
- Log in and access the LastPass Teams Admin Console at https://lastpass.com/company/#!/dashboard.
- Select Users in the left navigation.
- Click to select your desired user.
- Click the More icon in the upper-right corner.
- Choose from the following options, each outlined in detail below:
- Disable user
- Disabling a user in your LastPass Teams account puts a lock on the account. No one – not even your LastPass administrator – can log in to the account regardless of passwords or previous access. Once disabled, the license will be available for reassignment.
- Remove user from company
Removing a user from your LastPass Teams account will disassociate that user’s account from your company account. With this action, you are prompted to select one of the following options:
Important: Once you select Remove User, the license is available for reassignment, and the removed user's account will be downgraded to a LastPass Free account. However, if the removed user previously purchased LastPass Premium before joining Teams, they will be downgraded to LastPass Premium to continue using any remaining time left (if applicable).
- Forbid access to shared sites and folders – Selecting this option will delete all items within the account that have been shared with the user from other users in the company (from within shared folders and single shared items).
- Allow access to shared sites and folders – Selecting this option will allow all items that were shared with the user from other users in the company to remain available to the user (from within shared folders and single shared items).
- Delete user
- Any data stored within the account will be deleted, an action which cannot be undone. For this reason, it is strongly recommended that a user exports their LastPass account data prior to being deleted so that their LastPass vault data can be restored later if desired. Once deleted, the seat will be available for reassignment.
Results: You have terminated (disabled, removed, or deleted) your desired user.