product icon

Share a password

    You can share the passwords stored in your vault with other users.

    Before you begin: You can share a password entry, but first you must verify your email address before you will be able to share.
    1. Log in to LastPass and access your vault by doing either of the following:
      • In your web browser toolbar, click the LastPass icon active LastPass icon and select Vault or Open My Vault.
      • Go to https://lastpass.com/?ac=1 and log in with your email address and master password.
    2. Select Passwords in the navigation pane, then locate the password you want to share.
    3. On the password entry, click the Share icon .
    4. When prompted, enter the email address(es) of the recipient(s). If desired, check the box to enable the Allow Recipient to View Password option.
      Enter recipient email addresses
    5. Click Share to send the password to your recipient(s).
    6. Once you have shared your password, your recipient will remain in a Pending status until they accept the share. You can click the Resend Invitation icon or the Cancel Invitation icon .
    7. Once your recipient accepts, that password is shared with them. If updates are made to the password, you must share again to ensure that the recipient has the most up-to-date version of the password. If desired, you can click the Revoke Access icon to remove their access.
      Note:  Attachment download time for recipients may vary depending on the size of the file(s) being shared.

    About hidden passwords for shared items

    When you share an item, regardless of whether or not you enable the Allow Recipient to View Password option, you should be aware of the following:

    • Savvy end users could potentially access the password if they capture it using advanced techniques, but LastPass will never be able to access this data because it has been encrypted using their public key.
    • It is also possible to obtain shared passwords using another password manager.

    For these reasons, LastPass recommends that you generate a secure password for the site that you’re sharing in order to avoid sharing any passwords that you’re uncomfortable with the recipient obtaining.