product icon

Step #4: Integrate Directory in LastPass

    Integrate your directory in the LastPass new Admin Console.

    1. Open the Google Admin Console account settings.
    2. Copy the email address under Primary admin.
      Tip: Copy the email address to a text editor application as you will need it in a later step.
    3. Log in and access the Admin Console at https://admin.lastpass.com/.
    4. Go to Users > Directories.
    5. Select the Google Workspace tab.
    6. Click Upload credentials.json and upload the JSON file created in Step #2: Create Service Account step 8.
    7. Paste the email address in the Admin email field.
    8. Click Save changes.
      The Sync options window pops up.
    9. Choose one of the following options:
      Note: Do not refresh the page while configuring your sync settings in the Sync options pop-up window. If you refresh the page while the pop-up window is open, LastPass discards your chosen settings and sets the default option instead. The default option is to Sync all users and groups without enabling (that is, starting) the sync process.
      • Sync all users and groups (default option)

        This option syncs all users and groups between Google Workspace and LastPass.

        Sync all users and groups
        Note: Google Workspace groups do not keep their hierarchy in the LastPass groups table after syncing has completed. This means that groups are synced to LastPass without keeping any parent-child relationship that they may have in the Google directory.
      • Sync specified users and groups > Users tab

        This option lists all the users that exist in the Google directory, and allows you to select those individual users that you wish to sync to LastPass.

        You can search for specific users using the search box.

        Select the users you want to sync. Click Groups and select any groups if you want to sync groups too. Otherwise, click Next to proceed.

        Sync selected users

        After clicking Next, you will see a summary of the users (and groups) you selected. To modify your choices at this point, click Back and make any required changes. Once you have made your changes, click Next.

      • Sync specified users and groups > Groups tab

        This option lists all the groups that exist in the Google directory, and allows you to select the groups whose members you wish to sync to LastPass.

        You can search for specific groups using the search box.

        Select the groups that you want to sync. Click Users and select any users if you want to sync individual users too. Otherwise, click Next to proceed.

        Note: Google Workspace groups are presented in an expandable/collapsible tree structure, showing the hierarchy between groups and their nested groups. If a parent group is selected, all child groups are selected too. However, if you wish to customize the scope of syncing, you can:
        • de-select the parent group and select all or only specific child groups, or
        • leave the parent group selected and de-select all child groups, or
        • leave the parent group selected and select only specific child groups
        Sync selected groups
        Note: If you have more than 999 groups in your Google directory, the groups are not listed one by one, but you must search for specific groups using the search box.

        After clicking Next, you will see a summary of the (users and) groups you selected. To modify your choices at this point, click Back and make any required changes. Once you have made your changes, click Next.

        Note: Google Workspace groups do not keep their hierarchy in the LastPass groups table after syncing has completed. This means that groups are synced to LastPass without keeping any parent-child relationship that they may have in the Google directory.
    10. Click Save & exit to save your sync settings but not start syncing yet.

      Alternatively, click Save & enable to save your sync settings and start syncing. The sync process will run at an automatically scheduled time.

      After clicking any of the save options, you are taken back to the Directory integrations page.

      Tip: Back on the Directory integrations page, the value of Current sync setting gives you information about the sync option you selected (All users or Specified users).
    11. If you clicked Save & exit in the previous step, then select Enabled when you are ready to start syncing. The sync process will run at an automatically scheduled time.
      Sync is enabled
    12. The automatic sync runs once every hour. If you do not want to wait for the sync process to run at the scheduled time, click Sync users and this will sync your users instantly.
      Tip: To check if your users have been added successfully, click View integration logs. The Integration logs drawer is displayed. On the User activity tab, you can search for specific users to see if they have been added. In addition, on the System activity tab, you can check if the latest provisioning action has been successful.

      It may happen at some later stage that you have to re-sync users between Google Workspace and LastPass with sync settings that differ from the ones that you selected on initial setup. To change your sync settings, follow the instructions in How do I change the sync settings of a live Google Workspace integration?.