HELP FILE

What is the difference between leaving and deleting a LastPass Families account?

What is the difference between leaving and deleting a LastPass Families account?

    As a family member or Family Manager, you can leave a LastPass Families account. However, only Family Owners can delete a LastPass Families account.

    Leaving a LastPass Families account

    If you decide to leave a LastPass Families account (as a family member or Family Manager), please keep in mind the following:

    • Your account status will change to a LastPass Free plan, unless you upgrade to a Premium, Teams, or a Business plan tier (see pricing and features)
    • Items in shared folders you created will be moved to your personal vault and will no longer be accessible by others (with whom you previously shared)
    • You will lose access to any items within shared folders that were shared with you by other family members (those items will be moved to the sharer's personal vault)
    • All non-shared passwords, notes, and items in your vault will remain as-is
    • Any emergency access contacts that you set up will remain as-is

    Deleting a LastPass Families account

    If you delete a LastPass Families account (as a Family Owner), keep in mind:

    • Your account is affected in the same ways as leaving a LastPass Families account (listed above)
    • All existing family member and Family Manager accounts (including yours) will downgrade to LastPass Free accounts (unless you choose to upgrade to a Premium, Teams, or a Business plan tier (see pricing and features)
    • All shared folders that contain items (that you created) will be migrated to your LastPass Free account and converted to standard (non-shared) folders.