product icon

Why am I seeing the message, "We've detected an insecure login form" when I visit a site?

    LastPass will display this warning message if your LastPass browser extension Preferences are enabled to warn before autofilling on a form that is not secure.

    This means that the website you are visiting uses an insecure method to submit data (LastPass specifically looks for GET and mailto: methods on the page).

    Insecure login form on Chrome
    Attention: Currently, there are two different extension menu experiences, so instructions may differ depending on your navigational experience. The "new experience" applies to version 4.104.0 and newer for the LastPass browser extension, whereas the "previous experience" refers to version 4.103.0 and earlier.

      Take action on the prompt.

      1. When prompted, choose from the following options:
        • Click OK if you trust the website, which will allow LastPass to fill your stored login data.
        • Click Cancel if you do not trust the website and/or do not want LastPass to autofill. If desired, you can still manually fill your login data.

      Manage your LastPass browser extension Preferences.

      1. Click the active LastPass icon in your web browser toolbar.
      2. Take the action that matches your navigational experience:
        • New experience – Select the Account tab, then go to Extension settings > Advanced.
        • Previous experience – Select Account Options OR < your username > at the bottom of the menu, then go to Extension Preferences > Advanced.
      3. Check or uncheck the box for the Warn before filling insecure forms setting.
      4. Click Save.
    Results: You have taken action on the prompt, and/or have adjusted your LastPass browser extension Preferences to handle prompts like this in the future.